shiitake seven: Federico Zanellato, head chef of Ormeggio at the Spit

Federico Zanellato, head chef of Ormeggio at the Spit.

He’s trained at the best restaurant in the world, Noma (in Copenhagen, Denmark) and also the three-hatted Attica in Melbourne. Now, Federico Zanellato is the head chef of the one-hatted Ormeggio at the Spit. I recently had a nice chat with Federico about his inspirations and love for food.

What would you have as your last meal?

Well, this is very difficult to answer; there are to many things I would love to eat. I would start with some prosciutto from Cinta Senese then a homemade lasagna, a good Baccala made with Stoccafisso “Ragno quality” served with polenta and to finish, tiramisu made with fresh mascarpone…and sorry an Espresso to end the meal. After this I can die.

Do you watch Masterchef or My Kitchen Rules? Would you ever hire someone from the show?

Not really I don’t have much time.

What do you love about cooking?

Everything… buying the produce from the farmer, working and sharing the passion with the other staff in the kitchen, the freedom to create always something different and new, the pressure in the kitchen during service, reading cookbooks …but the thing I love the most is to get people excited and to transmit emotions with the food we cook.I want people to have fun when they go to a restaurant.

What don’t you like about the industry?

Wastage! I don’t like to waste food.

What is the dish you are most proud of creating?

I don’t think there is only one dish that I am proud of. What I am really proud of is the hard work of the kitchen team to create and prepare a dish. If I have to choose only one it would be the Ling fish Tiramisu.

What’s your favourite restaurant?

Attica of Ben Shewry in Melbourne.

Who do you look up to, as a chef?

Michel Bras, Ferran Adria, Blumenthal, Redzepi and many more.

Ormeggio at the Spit on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “shiitake seven: Federico Zanellato, head chef of Ormeggio at the Spit

Leave a Reply

