Cooking with Mum: Hot Pot

The beginnings of hot pot

Everyone has their favourite winter warmer; laksa, pho, apple pie or an old-fashioned roast. Β At the moment, one of my favourites is hot pot, which I recently had at my parents’ place.

There are heaps of variations for hot pot, whether it be Vietnamese, Korean or Japanese. Funnily enough, I never used to like it much but as I’ve gotten older, I really love how the meal is a social gathering, where people can sit around a pot and eat, talk and be merry.

Thin slices of wagyu beef

I’m not a hot pot connoisseur, but I think that’s the beauty of it. Quite simply, you throw all of the ingredients you want into the pot, whether it be meat, fish balls, vegetables and anything else you want, and then you wait for it to cook.

Thin slices of beef, pork, chicken and seafood are a real winner for me. I enjoy watching the beef transform from a fiery red to be ready to eat, in front of your eyes.

Fish balls are also a must in hot pot. You just throw them in and wait for them to rise to the surface. Delicious.

Where are some really good hot pot restaurants in Sydney? What are some of your other winter favourites?

One thought on “Cooking with Mum: Hot Pot

  1. Red Chilli Sichuan in the alleyway at ChinaTown opposite the Entertainment centre is very good Kev. Definitely try it out. Be careful if you order the spicy stock though, their ‘medium’ is borderline masochism for me and I can usually handle spicy food pretty well…

Leave a Reply

